Pick, what?

Have you ever heard of the term, “U-pick”?

When I first saw this word, I was like, “Pick, what?”

This past Saturday was quite interesting. Initially, the plan was to hang out w/ some friends. Hanging out w/ friends with no plan sounds fun, right? But then I thought it would be fun to actually go and do something completely out of the norm. So I suggested that we go do something that was pretty random…even for me. When I brought up the idea, everyone unanimously said, “Yah, that sounds cool.” I wasn’t sure what this adventure would bring for us, but I knew it had to be fun because it was something you normally don’t ask people to do.

As we were driving down the Highway 4 towards Brentwood, the word “U-pick” popped up quite frequently. At that point, I knew we were close to our destination, Pomeroy Farms. This past weekend we went CHERRY PICKING! Pretty cool, huh? As we got out of the car, we were all really excited to see what was in store for us..and who wouldn’t be excited for cherries priced at $2.50 per pound. Not only were they super cheap, juicy, organic, and delicious but you even got to eat them right off the trees, which we definitely took advantage of. Bing, White Rainier, and Brooks cherry trees covered the huge farm. Since the orchard opened only two weeks ago, we knew that there were many, many cherries that needed to be picked. I was so excited that I hopped from tree to tree picking as much as I could, and definitely sampling as much as I could. In two hours, I managed to pick 7 lbs. of cherries and ate about 1.5 lbs. of it.

After cherry picking, we saw a sign for “U-pick Peach picking”. You could guess what happened. At $2.00 per pound, I don’t think you could beat that anywhere. Sampling was definitely allowed, and that’s what we did. It was fun, but not as much fun as cherry picking.

This summer, I think you all should head down to Pomeroy Farms, and take advantage of the peaches, nectarines, and apricots that they have. If you are a frequent farmers market attendee and enjoy having fresh, organic produce right at your fingertips, I suggest you take advantage of the crops this season and make your way to farms/orchards that allow you to pick your own fruit/veggies. There is no feeling more satisfying than knowing where your food comes from.

From this whole experience, I came home darker than ever and with  a stomach full of peaches and cherries. Cherry Picking is fun. If you haven’t tried it, you better get on it.

Take advantage of the fruits and vegetables that are available this season. Trust me, you will be doing yourself a huge favor.

Have a great day!

Cheers,

T H E O

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cynthia on June 17, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Hey Theo – what a great reminder! I haven’t gone picking in eons! Definitely going to go (and take my kids too!)

    I have great pictures from when Ben was 6 and we went to a farm near Santa Cruz – he picked raspberries, and it was one for the basket, two in the mouth…

    Reply

  2. Posted by cynthia on June 17, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    got curious – here’s a listing of lots of places in the Bay Area that you can go pick your own!

    http://www.examiner.com/x-7030-SF-Sustainable-Food-Examiner~y2009m7d24-Sustainable-Food-101-Where-to-pick-your-own-fruit-in-the-Bay-Area

    Reply

  3. Posted by Theo on June 18, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Hey Cynthia,

    Thanks for the references. I wish I knew that before I went…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

