…and it also comes in Wheat free!

I’m black.

I’m available in regular or low-sodium.

I compliment 99% of Asian foods.

What am I?

Give up?

The answer is…Soy Sauce.

If you’re an avid fan of Asian food like I am, you already know how essential and necessary this condiment is to this type of cuisine.

When you embark on the Paleo Diet, you tell yourself you are going to eat only what is suggested and rid yourself of anything not on the list. Easier said then done, right? But when you’re sitting at the Sushi Boat at a Japanese restaurant and you see the delectable pieces of sashimi floating by, what usually accompanies sashimi and wasabi?

Made from fermented soybeans, wheat, water, and salt it’s no real surprise that us Paleo-folk can’t have this.  Fortunately, for all Paleo-enthusiasts out there you can enjoy the functionality of soy sauce! When I first found out about this, I was excited to know that there really is a Paleo friendly substitute for everything. Have you ever heard of Tamari?

Certified to be “gluten-free” by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, Organic Wheat Free Tamari, is naturally fermented with 100% soybeans and contain absolutely no wheat. We all know that soybeans are not Paleo; however, it depends on how extreme you view your Paleo lifestyle. For me, I use Tamari in a few meals that I prepare bi-weekly, and to be honest, I feel perfectly fine. It hasn’t negatively effected my performance in the gym, nor is it an irritant to my stomach. In order to keep this diet interesting, an occasional drop of Tamari here and there is ok. The key here is moderation.

If you do a search for Paleo Recipes online, you will come across a few recipes that ask for a bit of Tamari.

These are just a few recipes that utilize the unique flavor of Tamari, and because they are Paleo they sound a lot more enticing, eh?

Today, I blog about Tamari to create awareness and let you guys know that Paleo eating does not have to resort to steamed carrots and grilled chicken breasts. Add a little flavor and spice to your meals. Your stomach will love you for it!  Take what I say w/ a grain of salt. It gives you an option, and hopefully opens your doors to all that Paleo living has to offer.

What do you guys think?

To each their own.

Cheers!

T H E O

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nick H on May 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Lettuce Cups are one of my favorite dishes.
    I like to put ground up Thai Chili & lemon juice in mine to spice it up and give it a great citrus flavor.
    I totally agree about flavor, just because your are doing the paleo thing does not mean you need to leave out the seasoning. Most of the best seasonings are plants like mint, sage, lemon grass and basil!

    Reply

  2. Posted by jesse on May 27, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I thought you were going to say Chris Tucker from Rush Hour instead of Soy Sauce!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

