Cuckoo for Coconut…Milk?

For a long time I was convinced that anything coconut related was one of the nastiest things ever. Although this was a bold statement to make, there was definitely a lot of truth to it. My first experience with coconut was in the form of candy. When you’re young you don’t have any concept of the word “enough”. So, can you guess what happened? LOL

Now fast forward many years later to the Paleo Challenge information session w/ Cynthia on February 27, 2010. A question came up regarding dairy, and when you’re on Paleo your relationship w/ dairy is non-existent. So what’s the best alternative for a heavy milk drinker?

Jojo replies, “Coconut Milk…its on sale at Whole Foods till March 2nd.”

In my head I was thinking…uhh, that sounds nasty, but you know what I did a few hours later? I went to Whole Foods to conquer my fear of coconut and picked up So Delicious Coconut Milk Beverage and was so glad that I did. You could do so many things w/ this beverage. One thing I like to do is make a quick coconut milkshake. If you’re into shakes you could use this as the base and add fruit and almond butter, and voila! Its that simple. I promise.

Not only is it refreshing, but it does your body REAL GOOD.

+ dairy, lactose, GLUTEN, and soy free
+ rich in Medium Chain Fatty Acids (MCFA’s)
+ No Trans Fat
+ Believed to have anti-microbial & anti-bacterial qualities
+ Did I mention its good for you? =)

Making the coconut a part of your diet can be beneficial to you as you venture more into the Paleo lifestyle. You know why? Because the Coconut Gurus at the Coconut Research Center said so.

If you are one of those heavy milk drinkers on Paleo, I suggest that you give Coconut Milk a try. It tastes a little different, but the consistency is somewhat similar. Compared to regular milk its also a great source of calcium, vitamin A, D, and B12. Need any more convincing? I too was a fan of dairy, and was concerned about where I was going to get my calcium from, aside from all the leafy green vegetables, but when I found out about the Coconut Milk Beverage I was happy to make the transition.

Stay tuned next time as I will share my thougts about Cooking w/ Coconut Milk and all the delicious Paleo recipes you could make! Get excited.

Cheers.

– T H E O

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jojo on March 14, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Like you Theo, I’ve become hooked on it, so before the sale ended, I bought like 10 half-gallons to last me a few weeks! The shelf life is much longer than dairy!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Theo on March 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Hey Jojo. Thanks for the recommendation! The vanilla one is the best one.

    Reply

  3. I’ve been dairy-free for 15 years. I have never during that time tried a milk substitute. Instead I drank water or a fruit juice (like orange). I have recently decided to give up fruit juice (after putting on the web a definition that calls them liquid fructose). So just water for now.

    I considered trying the So Delicious coconut milk. But I already eat one of their plain yogurts for breakfast each day and I do drink their plain coconut kefir, which is quite tasty. It is nice and sour. And if too sour for you, it can be mixed with fruit juice. The problem with their yogurts is they are sweet, and the flavored yogurts very much so.

    They also have a coconut ice cream which is too sweet for me. After you give up all sweet foods you will lose the tolerance you developed for sweetness and will no longer find it appealing.

    For cooking I would use canned Thai Kitchen coconut milk (or one without the guar gum if you can find such). Though it would be a bit concentrated for a soup, and your half gallons of So Delicious would be better for that.

    Reply

  4. Hey Don, thanks for visiting the site and leaving a comment 🙂

    You’re so right about losing your “tolerance for sweetness” – it’s amazing how you adapt (and realize how sugar-heavy your tastes really were). I am really careful to look at labels for products that are flavored, eg. vanilla yoghurt etc, because most often there is added sugar in one form or another. Haven’t yet tried the coconut milk yoghurt or kefir – thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  5. When I was writing my definition: http://paleodiet.com/definition.htm
    and I was writing about salt, I found that Wikipedia even referred to salt as an example of building up a tolerance to. I haven’t added salt to food in years. Though I do buy food from a Pakistani takeout and I do not specify reduced salt. I just require that they use olive oil instead of whatever seed or legume oil they usually use.

    Of course I do not eat salty snacks. Though my work slot at the Food Coop is to oversee the putting away of the chips that come in. I chose that job as it requires moving and lifting the large boxes. I sit at a desk all day. It didn’t make sense to take a job like cashiering where one just sits for the slot time.

    Back to the kefir. It just got a little better. It is less thick. My complaint with it had been that it was so over stabilized that it was slimy. Now it is more like a sour milk. I would prefer to have to shake it, but that isn’t the way the food industry works.

    As for their coconut yogurt it went the other way. Now it is more like a jello it is so stabilized. If the active cultures weren’t different between the yogurt and the kefir, I would skip the yogurt and consume more kefir. I may still. But I dump the yogurt on top of my big breakfast pile and kefir wouldn’t work well. It would flow all over the place.

    Now that I have brought up breakfast I might as well copy-and-paste in what I eat:

    My Breakfast
    —————–
    I make a large breakfast and then only eat most of it, with the rest added to and eaten later. It consists of:

    1 1/2 Pakistani kabobs
    4 eggs over easy in coconut oil (eggs bought from the farmer)
    ~.15 lb of freshly ground organic walnuts (using old style oval Krups coffee grinder)
    ~1 cup homemade applesauce
    6 oz frozen raspberries (Wymans)
    5 oz frozen Wymans wild blueberries
    1 plain coconut yogurt

    All in a big pile layered as listed above. (Berries defrosted either partially in the refrigerator overnight, or entirely in the microwave. I use a scale to split the bags of berries up evenly, and knowing the weight allows me to learn the microwave times.)

    Crossfit is more into vegetables than fruit. My taste buds prefer fruit. I’m a believer in that my taste buds have evolved to direct me to the food I should eat. And you see raspberries above and not strawberries. I find frozen strawberries to be too sweet. I only eat them when in season locally.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Theo Paat on March 15, 2010 at 4:32 am

    Hey Don,

    Thank you very much for sharing your input w/ us. Its good to hear from someone who has been dairy free for quite sometime. So how were you when you first started going Dairy Free? What did you do to satisfy those urges to consume dairy?

    Cheers.

    – T H E O

    Reply

  7. First a little background. I have celiac disease, so I have no choice but to be gluten-free. After I got on the Internet 15 years ago I started learning about autism and the using of the gluten-free and dairy-free diet to control that disorder. I have always been shy. Shyness is simply the bottom end of what is now called the autism spectrum. So partly because I figured going dairy-free could help me, and partly out of sympathy for the autistic community, I went dairy-free. Going full paleo then came a year after that.

    The only dairy I miss is sharp cheese. I think you will find cheese is the hard one to give up. But it is the most important. The casein protein is the toxic protein one must avoid for the autism spectrum problems (and also for reducing airborne allergies). And cheese is primarily casein, with the whey removed. Now there is a substitute! But you had better have deep pockets. It is actually quite nice. A good tang. The cheese is made from cashews. As much as we are different from the vegan community, their bigger numbers, and their strict avoidance of dairy, can be very useful to us.

    The cheese is made by Dr. Cow and called Tree Nut cheeses. You can see them here:
    http://www.dr-cow.com/products/
    I have tried all of the flavors at the Park Slope Food Coop (which you will see listed on the Where to Buy page). Foods are only marked up 21% there, but the prices are still high. That page also lists several web vendors that will ship. The web prices I see as I write this ($6.99-8.95 plus high shipping) are for only 2.5 ounces. Ouch.

    I suppose butter has a taste one could miss. I’m so strict with my dairy I have not had ghee, though it should be free of protein. I do wonder how it tastes. Some samples from http://www.pureindianfoods.com/ where sent to me, but I gave them away. Maybe if they haven’t all been consumed I should have her bring one over for me to taste.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

