A few wee truths about Processed Foods

You know what?

I’m not going to lie.

I’ll admit it right here.

I am guilty of partaking in the consumption of processed foods and didn’t mind it so much because it was there and I enjoyed it…until I adopted the Paleo lifestyle.

At some point in time, long before you embarked on the Paleo Challenge, you probably found yourself eating and enjoying some type of processed food because it was something you were probably accustomed to, it was readily available, and it was also convenient. Right?

Now that you are consuming strictly wholesome and nutritious foods, the desire to take on processed foods should be minimized, or at least enough for you to have no desire  at all…well at least that is the goal of this challenge.

Did you ever stop to think about what you were actually putting in your body, and the effects it could have on you? The 4 Most Harmful Ingredients in Packaged Food After reading this, its no wonder that the obesity rate in the United States is so high. Sometimes the most convenient things aren’t always the best things for you.

If you would rather watch and listen, check out Dr. Andrew Seigel as he discusses the unhealthy effects of processed foods, and what we can do to avoid them.

As Crossfitters, challenging yourselves w/ the Paleo lifestyle, you are equipped w/ the tools to help you reach whatever desired goals you have set forth for yourselves. If you happen to know someone that you care about who is succumbing to the pressures of processed foods, educate them and lead them to a more balanced all natural nutritious meal i.e a Paleo one =).

Remember, it all begins w/ you.

– T H E O

Just a follow-up question…

You are nearing the end of Week 2 of your challenge, how are you adjusting to this new lifestyle? Still adjusting? Feeling rejuvenated? I want to know how you all are doing since I don’t really get to see you at the gym.

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cynthia on March 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Theo, that’s a great post and an AWESOME picture!

    Reply

  2. Going to Disneyland next weekend…any suggestions? No way for me to cook meals…. 😦 There is a store close, but no fridge to store anything 😦 I am sure someone has already conquered this!! Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Reply

  3. Posted by T H E O on March 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Hey Eric,

    When I went to Disneyland this past summer, I was concerned for the same reason. Prior to the trip, i made a huge Costco run. Bought a lot of almonds, beef jerkey (although not Paleo, it was what was available), and dried fruit. In the park, I carried my backpack and had these in there. The people checking the bags didn’t mind so much, so it was ok. Honestly, I didn’t have any temptation to eat a burger, or a hot dog. I kept snacking on these all day, and it worked out really well.

    You could also get the tuna that is sold in packets, rather than the canned ones for something quick. If you are traveling w/ kids, hope they like what you are packing. =)

    Are you driving there? What about bringing a cooler, perhaps?

    Also, there are still restaurants in like Downtown Disney where you could make good decisions and still be on Paleo. Maybe taking a look at this will help you out: https://cfscpaleo.wordpress.com/2010/03/04/on-the-go-w-paleo/

    Hope this helps, and let me kjnow how it goes!

    May the force be w/ you.

    Cheers!

    Reply

    • I am taking kids…4 of em so no room for a cooler. Thanks for your ideas. I love beef jerky and know of a local butcher in Brentwood (Nor Cal) that makes homemade with spices, no sugars….so I will get a bunch of that. Dried fruit has a lot of sugars, but will check it out…dates have been my staple.

      I know there are good restaurants, but with the kids I am sure it will be the burger huts.

      Are Churros on the Paleo list? 😉

      Thanks,
      Eric

      Reply

      • Posted by T H E O on March 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm

        Sounds good, Eric.

        Dried fruit does have a lot of sugar, but you could have a few pieces here and there.

        P.S.
        How did you make that happy face? lol.

  4. Posted by Rob Aloe on March 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Theo

    This week has been wierd. Last night i had an insatiable apetite so I ended up eating about 3,000 calories yesterday. I ate mostly fruit and almonds last night but it was crazy. I have found that i don’t really need coffee in the mornings anymore and I am sleeping really well. I do still feel meloncolly sometimes when I am hungry but that is going away. The workouts help that feeling go away.

    Rob

    Reply

  5. Posted by T H E O on March 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Hey Rob,

    I’m glad to hear that you are sleeping better! So have you felt melancholy about your hunger before going on Paleo? Didn’t you get the memo that all W.O.D’s make negative things go away. =)

    Have a good one.

    Reply

    • Posted by Rob Aloe on March 11, 2010 at 11:05 pm

      Theo, I figured my body was just adjusting to the paleo diet. Not really like that before. Plus, I notice food on the TV a lot more.

      Reply

  6. You make a winky face…like that with a ; and then a – and then a ). Put it all together ;-). Or you can do this one 😛

    Reply

  7. Posted by Stacey M. on March 12, 2010 at 3:48 am

    This week has been a little bit better. I would say the caffeine and sugar withdraws have passed, but I have been feeling a little bit down. My coworkers and husband keep mentioning that I look sad. I’m sleeping really really good. Maybe it’s because I’m not as active as I normally am.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Dana on March 12, 2010 at 6:10 am

    What I appreciate most about paleo is the decrease in stomach disturbance. I generally have had issues with IBS, despite eating fairly clean- but once I cut out the rest of the legumes and grains I have noticed a huge difference. That alone is enough to keep me on the wagon! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by Dana on March 12, 2010 at 6:13 am

    BTW I especially get a kick out of the button the guy is wearing in the picture. Take a look at this article if you get a chance. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/12/business/12seed.html?hp

    Reply

  10. Posted by T H E O on March 12, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Hey Everyone!

    Thanks for updating me on your Paleo status so far. For the most part, I am only seeing positive feedback from those who responded. See…miracles do happen. =) LOL But yah, its nearing the end of Week 2, and you guys are pretty much halfway there!

    There will be times where you feel like you miss your old habits or “those” types of food come back and haunt you, but just focus, keep doing your thing, and continue plugging through.

    KUDOS TO YOU!

    Cheers!

    Reply

    • I walked through the Candy Aisle yesterday at Walgreen’s….and I *do* miss it! But felt good that I was doing the right thing.

      I also had a startling revelation last night about Dried Fruits. My 2 year old has Gerber dried Apples and I looked at the back of the bag….Ingredients, just Dried Apples, no sugars, or anything else listed. Feels funny to buy for myself, but it is definitely Paleo!

      Thanks for the support here on the blog!
      Eric

      Reply

  11. Posted by erik hayes on March 13, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Awesome job with this Blog. I was thinking of starting one for a big group of people, this is one to emulate.
    Just a tip for those who are gluten intolerant. I was browsing through restaurant info and when ordering grilled vegetables, most restaurant use a spice seasong containing gluten. My fiance and I thought we were doing awesome with steak and veggies but she kept getting a low grade stomach ache. Sure enough, even seasonings have gluten.
    Just remember to ask if it is going to cause you problems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

