Juggling

Hallelujah, I have an internet connection again! thanks Theo for doing the daily posts two days in a row 🙂   This one is going to be short and sweet and requires audience participation, hint, hint. I’ll be at Robb Wolf’s Paleolithic Solution seminar all day Saturday, so you won’t see me on the blog til later in the evening.

Business items first

  • We have a barrel from Second Harvest Food Bank at the Gym now, ready to receive any and all food items. If you haven’t cleaned out your cupboards yet, now is the time! And if you have already removed your non-Paleo food items but have other food to donate, please bring it and let’s fill that barrel up!
  • Everyone needs to send stats and workout results to me. If you haven’t done that yet, please do so ASAP! I have left a blue tape measure at the gym on top of the stereo for those who don’t have one at home. As a reminder, the stats and WODs are:
    • Weight
    • Measurements (abdomen, waist, neckline and wrist)
    • Body fat % (measured on the scale or  by calculation).
    • Max pullups (whatever method you can do)
    • Run 1 mile or Row 2000m
    • 1 rep max Squat Clean & Jerk

Now the fun part

One of the best parts of doing a Challenge like this with other people is the sharing and encouragement and support that comes from being part of a group. I hope you all are reading each other’s food logs, and encourage everyone to post more questions and comments each day on the blog. So for Saturday, as we near the end of our first week, I want to ask you two questions.

First, “What is your best discovery so far?” It may be a particular food item, a place to eat, a change you’ve made that turned out better than you thought it would, an idea you found in someone else’s log, a perspective that you gained through reading something posted or linked to. Whatever it is, please share it in the Comments today!

Second, “What has been difficult or challenging this week?” Is there a food you can’t quite let go of, or a situation in which you’ve had a hard time figuring out or finding something Paleo to eat? Have you had an physical changes that have been uncomfortable or troublesome?  Is there a point where you feel stuck? Whatever the difficulty or challenge is, please post it to Comments so we can help you get through it!

Finally, why did I put a picture of someone juggling a boatload of balls? Well, don’t you kind of feel that way a little bit? There is a lot to juggle – food choices, time pressures, work demands, family needs, etc.. I long ago gave up the idea of achieving balance in my life,  but I do believe  that it is possible to learn to juggle better, and as long as I don’t drop anything on my head, it’s all good.

Have a great day, and let’s hear from all y’all in Comments today!


6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stacey M on March 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I’m hoping to get into the gym on Monday to do the bench mark WOD’s. I have an injury that is preventing me from doing much. At the very least I should be able to do the max reps pull ups.

    My best discovery so far has been almond butter. It has helped me through the week! I may be having too much of it and I will definitely be cutting back, but it has helped me through my sugar cravings. Especially yesterday! I came home from work in an awful mood, tired hungry, just angry at the world. There was no reason for me to be angry, it was Friday! I new I was craving sugar, so I got home, I took an apple, sliced it, put a little almond butter on each slice and enjoyed EVERY single bite! The almond butter I bought is organic and unsweetened, just raw crushed almonds.

    What’s been challenging and difficult for me this week is not getting to the gym. It’s been frustrating not getting a single wod in since last Wednesday. (my injury occurred 1 month ago today, and I pushed myself back to the gym to soon). I know getting a work out in would definitely help my mood, but I have to try and be patient.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Zach on March 6, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Hey quick thanks to Cynthia and Theo for keeping this blog going everyday and making it awesome.

    Cynthia, I’ve been gone all week away from anything that has a bar and weights so I’ll get those WOD’s to you ASAP.

    Thanks again!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jesseb on March 6, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    I think the best discovery so far is that i feel my thought process is a little more clear. I think it may have to do with eating a more raw type of foods (almond butter) specifically. I also discovered that cravings for certain foods is disappearing, and my general attitude towards food is changing a bit. (The food as a drug philosophy by Barry Sears can best describe it.)

    Honestly the hardest thing for me is giving up artifical sweetners and cheese. But its been a week and so far so good.

    Reply

  4. Posted by brian medina on March 7, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    My best discovery so far has been coconut milk. I’m a big milk drinker and thought it would be extrememly tough to give up for the month. The coconut milk substitution has helped out a lot. Its been great for using in morning shakes.

    The challenge this week has been navigating menus at restaurants. We had a birthday to celebrate in the office and the restaurant everyone wanted to go to was a Texas Roadhouse BBQ place which meant lots of meat loaded in BBQ, fries, potatoes, etc… basically everything non-paleo. I managed to find a grilled chicken breast with side salad and mixed veggies, but the options were extremely limited.

    Reply

  5. I agree about the coconut milk… I love smoothies, but every time I tried to make them without milk I hated them. But with the coconut milk, they are great! I just need to work some protein into them now… I’m still waiting for my egg whites to thaw…

    As for the difficult part… going out with friends who say “I’ll buy you guys a drink” and responding with “I’ll take a water” 😦

    Actually, another big thing for me is a combination of my tastes and my laziness. I love strong flavors, so I can only eat grilled chicken and broccoli (or a salad) so many times. While I do like to cook, I just don’t like doing it for myself or have to clean up after. Living in a studio apartment with about 3ft of counter space means I run out room really quick. Cook some dinner and my sink is full. But it is nice to be cooking again, I haven’t done much of that recently… ate out and order pizza a lot 😦 Because of this I’ve avoided recipes which take a lot of prep work and tended to go for simple bulk cooking, like grilling up a boat load of chicken. I need to start trying new things and exploring some recipes…. even if it means several loads of dishes throughout the night 😉

    Reply

  6. Posted by T H E O on March 8, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Hey Ben,

    You can still enjoy cooking the Paleo way. Honestly, prepping things can be burdensome, but in the end its worth it. I know that Cynthia likes to cook in large portions. This way you save a bit more time, and you have your meals all prepped and ready to go for about a few days. For example, you could try making Paleo Meatballs (http://everydaypaleo.com/2009/12/03/magnificant-meatballs/) that could stretch for about 2-3 days, and you could make a Frittata. Bake these in muffin tins, and VOILA perfectly portioned fritattas for a few meals/snacks http://everydaypaleo.com/2009/12/22/frittata-for-all/.

    I try and make different food everyday, but also I kinda cheat a bit and prepare food Cynthia’s way. =)

    As far as dishes go. Remember, they are your best friend. =)

    Have a good one.

    Cheers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

